A foreign national can buy a home in Antalya or Istanbul and finance it without interest, but on tighter terms than a resident. Kuveyt Türk's Gurbetten Sılaya Gayrimenkul Finansmanı is open to Turkish citizens living abroad and to citizens of countries on Turkey's reciprocity list, in lira or foreign currency, at up to 50 percent of the valuation, with a 0.5 percent allocation fee and completion in 3 to 10 days. Emlak Katılım's Memlekette Konut Finansmanı reaches 80 percent of valuation but only for Turkish citizens resident abroad. Albaraka Türk, Türkiye Finans and Vakıf Katılım publish 120-month products and the BDDK loan-to-value bands but no foreigner policy, so they are quote-only. Before any bank, the Tapu ve Kadastro Genel Müdürlüğü (TKGM) rules decide whether you may buy at all.
Ready to compare halal options?
Can a foreigner buy property in Turkey? The TKGM rules
TKGM's foreign investor portal, Your Key Türkiye, sets out the legal limits. Only citizens of countries designated by Presidential decision may acquire property and limited real rights in Turkey, and they may buy any type, including homes, workplaces, land and fields, within the legal restrictions. A foreign individual may own at most thirty hectares nationwide. Foreign individuals together may not own more than ten percent of the privately owned land area of any district. Property inside military forbidden zones and security zones cannot be acquired, and TKGM says the registration of those zones in the title records is complete in all 81 provinces; property in a special security zone needs the governor's permission. A foreigner who buys unbuilt land must submit a development project to the relevant ministry within two years or the land becomes subject to liquidation.
The portal also lists the paperwork: passport or national ID with translation where needed, a signed identity declaration form with one photograph, a power of attorney if someone acts for you, the compulsory earthquake insurance (DASK) policy for any building, a foreigner identification number (assigned at the land registry if you do not have one, or a tax number if the migration system does not respond), bank-approved transfer receipts, and a sworn translator authorised by the regional judicial commission if either party does not speak Turkish. For a sale to a foreign individual the bank must also issue a Döviz Alım Belgesi, a foreign-exchange purchase certificate for the sale value under Article 13 of the Capital Movements Circular, and send it to the land registry by KEP. TKGM has removed the mandatory valuation report for ordinary foreign purchases; it survives only for citizenship-by-investment, where a Tutar Tespit Belgesi confirms the 400,000 US dollar minimum.
Since 1 January 2020 a sale can be completed at any land registry office, not only the one where the property sits, and TKGM's Berlin consulate office can process a purchase for someone in Germany without travel, with twelve more consulate offices in ten countries announced. Web-Tapu lets a foreigner with a foreigner ID and an e-Devlet password apply online and authorise an agent. Our general halal home financing walkthrough assumes a resident buyer; the sections below are the parts that change when you are not one. The home financing hub lists the banks.
Which participation banks finance foreigners, and on what terms
| Bank | Finances non-citizens? | Product and ceiling | Currency | Documents the bank names | Residence requirement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kuveyt Türk | Yes, citizens of reciprocity-list countries, plus Turkish citizens abroad | Gurbetten Sılaya Gayrimenkul Finansmanı; up to 50% of valuation; 75% reduction if you, your spouse or minor children already own a home | TL or foreign currency | Not listed on the page; branch application; 3 to 10 days | Not stated; branch decides |
| Emlak Katılım | No; Turkish citizens resident abroad only | Memlekette Konut Finansmanı; up to 80% of valuation; TL to 120 months, USD or EUR to 60 months | TL, USD or EUR; FX only if official income is in FX | Employer reference letter, proof of overseas address, last 3 months' salary statements, all translated by a sworn translator and notarised | Must be resident abroad |
| Türkiye Finans | Not stated; quote-only | Konut Finansmanı; 120 months; BDDK LTV table printed | TL | ID, income proof, tapu and occupancy permit for the property | Not stated |
| Albaraka Türk | Not stated; quote-only | Konut Finansmanı; 120 months; BDDK LTV table printed | TL | Not foreigner-specific | Not stated |
| Vakıf Katılım | Not stated; quote-only | Konut Finansmanı; 120 months; KKDF and BSMV exemption noted | TL | ID, income proof, utility bill up to 2 months old | Not stated |
Only Kuveyt Türk answers the question directly. Its housing finance FAQ asks "can foreigners use housing finance" and replies that Turkish citizens resident abroad can use Gurbetten Sılaya, and that citizens of countries on the reciprocity list can use the same product. The product page describes it as a special-condition housing finance for people living abroad with foreign-currency income, available in both lira and foreign currency, with the financeable amount depending on valuation, whether the home is new or second-hand, and its energy class. The ceiling of 50 percent of valuation is printed, as is the 75 percent reduction when the applicant's household already owns a home. Emlak Katılım is more generous at 80 percent but restricts the product to Turkish citizens resident abroad, so a British or German passport holder with no Turkish citizenship is outside it. The other three banks will consider an application at the branch; nothing on their pages says yes or no.
The BDDK loan-to-value bands and how they bite harder for a non-resident
Every Turkish bank applies the same BDDK ceilings on housing finance, and Türkiye Finans and Albaraka Türk print them. For a first home, the maximum financing is 90 percent of valuation for energy class A or B property valued at 5 million TL or less, falling to 80 percent, 70 percent, 50 percent and 40 percent as the value climbs through 7 million, 10 million, 20 million and above 20 million TL; lower energy classes get 10 to 20 points less at each band. If the applicant, spouse or minor children already own a home, the ceilings collapse to a quarter: 22.5 percent for a class A or B home under 5 million TL, 10 percent above 20 million. Our explainer on the BDDK financing caps walks through the full tables.
For a foreign buyer the bands are usually not the binding constraint. Kuveyt Türk's 50 percent ceiling sits below the 90 percent first-home band at every value, so you should plan on a down payment of at least half the valuation, not the purchase price, and valuations in resort markets often come in below asking. The 75 percent reduction applies to a home owned anywhere in Turkey by your household, and the bank will ask. Term is also shorter in practice when the bank lends in foreign currency: Emlak Katılım's product caps USD and EUR financing at 60 months against 120 for lira, and Kuveyt Türk leaves the term to the branch. A 50 percent, 60-month facility on a 10 million TL valuation means financing 5 million TL and repaying it in five years, which is a very different instalment from a resident's 90 percent, 120-month plan.
Lira or foreign currency, and how FX income is assessed
Turkish consumer financing in foreign currency is only available to people whose income is in foreign currency; Emlak Katılım's page states the rule in its own terms, allowing USD or EUR funding only where the applicant's official income is in foreign currency. Kuveyt Türk's Gurbetten Sılaya is built for the same profile and offers both currencies. The bank will want to see the income documented at source: Emlak Katılım lists an employer reference letter, a document showing your overseas residence address and your last three months of salary account statements, with every foreign-language document translated into Turkish by a sworn translator in Turkey and notarised. Expect a Turkish bank to ask for the same even where its page does not say so.
Choosing the currency is a risk decision, not a Shariah one. A murabaha in euros fixes your instalments in the currency you earn, which removes exchange risk from the repayment but means the bank's profit margin is priced on a shorter term, typically 60 months. A lira murabaha runs to 120 months and matches the price of the house, but your euro salary buys a varying number of lira each month. Türkiye Finans's printed lira table on 16 September 2026 showed, for an insured first-home buyer over 120 months, a monthly profit rate of 2.88 percent, a 0.50 percent allocation fee, a monthly total cost of 3.70 percent and an annual total cost of 54.72 percent; the uninsured version was 3.34 percent monthly and 64.99 percent annually, and a buyer who already owns a home paid 4.23 percent monthly total cost. Those are resident lira numbers and the only printed benchmark; a foreign-currency quote will be lower in nominal terms and must be requested in writing. The best halal home financing ranking explains why only one bank prints rates.
One-off costs to budget for, with where each is set
- Title deed fee (tapu harcı) and the land registry's revolving-fund fee: TKGM's sale template says the amounts are notified to you by SMS once your documents are accepted, and payment triggers the signing appointment; ask the tapu office or your lawyer for the current rates rather than relying on a quoted percentage.
- Valuation (ekspertiz): no longer compulsory for an ordinary foreign purchase at the land registry, but every bank requires its own SPK-licensed valuation before financing, and Türkiye Finans says the fee is whatever the valuation firm bills the bank, passed to you.
- Mortgage registration (ipotek tesis): the bank registers a mortgage until the financing is repaid, and Kuveyt Türk's calculator lists an ipotek tesis bedeli alongside the valuation fee; Türkiye Finans says the amount is the registering firm's invoice.
- Allocation fee (tahsis ücreti): 0.5 percent of the financed amount at Kuveyt Türk and Türkiye Finans, collected upfront, which is the legal maximum for housing finance.
- DASK: compulsory earthquake insurance is required by TKGM for any building before the sale is registered and by the bank throughout the term; our comparison of DASK and konut sigortası explains what each covers.
- Sworn translator and notary: required at the land registry if you do not speak Turkish, and for the notarised translations of income documents the bank asks for; fees are per page and per session, set by the notary tariff.
- Foreign-exchange purchase certificate: the bank converts the sale value and issues the Döviz Alım Belgesi; the cost is the spread on the conversion, so compare the bank's rate with the market rate on the day.
Antalya and Istanbul: what changes with the market
The two cities that generate most foreign-buyer searches behave differently at the bank. In Antalya and the Mediterranean coast much of the stock sold to foreigners is new-build in projects, and the valuation the bank commissions is what the 50 percent ceiling applies to, not the developer's price. If the developer offers its own instalment plan, compare it as a vade farkı sale under the Diyanet's rules: permissible if the total is fixed at signing, and often cheaper than a bank facility for a short period. In Istanbul the stock is more mixed, second-hand apartments are common, and the property must have an occupancy permit (iskan) and be registered as a residence (mesken) for any participation bank to finance it; Kuveyt Türk's FAQ lists those conditions and excludes buildings with a demolition order or unauthorised alterations.
Both cities sit inside districts where the ten percent foreign-ownership cap can in principle be reached, and the land registry checks it at the time of sale; the Parsel Sorgu app TKGM offers in English lets you check a parcel's registered status, including military zone flags, before you commit a deposit. Our regional pages for the Mediterranean and Marmara regions under the home financing hub list the participation bank branches in each city. Whatever the city, open the participation bank account first, because the financing, the FX certificate and the DASK policy all run through it; our guide for foreigners opening a participation account covers the identity and tax-number steps.
The decision: murabaha now, or save and pay cash
Take the participation bank murabaha if you are a Turkish citizen abroad or a citizen of a reciprocity-list country with documented foreign-currency income, you can fund at least half the valuation plus the one-off costs in cash, and you want the home within a season rather than a decade. Kuveyt Türk is the only bank that says yes to non-citizens in print, so start there and treat Türkiye Finans, Albaraka Türk and Vakıf Katılım as branch conversations. Ask each for the pre-contract information form showing the total repayment in the currency you choose, the term, the allocation fee and the mortgage and valuation costs, and compare totals rather than monthly rates. If you want a bank to come to you, our matching service routes the request.
Pay cash, or save first, if you cannot document foreign income to a Turkish bank's standard, if the 50 percent ceiling leaves an instalment you cannot carry over 60 months, or if the property is land or an unpermitted building that no bank will finance. The savings-finance route through a BDDK-licensed company is open to foreigners in principle but the Diyanet's conditions and the delivery timing need their own reading. Either way, buy the DASK policy, get the parcel checked for zone restrictions, and use the Döviz Alım Belgesi process at a participation bank so the purchase itself stays inside the system you want to bank with. Facts checked against yourkeyturkiye.gov.tr, kuveytturk.com.tr, emlakkatilim.com.tr, turkiyefinans.com.tr, albaraka.com.tr, vakifkatilim.com.tr on 16 September 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Can a foreigner get a halal mortgage in Turkey?
Yes, with conditions. Kuveyt Türk's Gurbetten Sılaya Gayrimenkul Finansmanı is open to citizens of countries on Turkey's reciprocity list as well as Turkish citizens abroad, in lira or foreign currency, at up to 50 percent of the bank's valuation. Emlak Katılım's expatriate product is for Turkish citizens only. Other participation banks do not publish a foreigner policy, so they are quote-only at the branch.
How much deposit does a foreign buyer need?
Plan on at least half the valuation. Kuveyt Türk caps financing for its expatriate and foreign-national product at 50 percent of the bank's valuation, reduced by a further 75 percent if your household already owns a home in Turkey. Because valuations in resort markets often come in under the asking price, the cash you need is the gap between price and half of valuation, plus fees, DASK and translation costs.
Can I borrow in euros or dollars for a Turkish property?
Only if your income is in foreign currency. Emlak Katılım's product allows USD or EUR funding solely where the applicant's official income is in foreign currency, with a 60-month cap against 120 months for lira, and Kuveyt Türk's Gurbetten Sılaya offers both currencies for people earning abroad. Expect to document the income with an employer letter, address proof and three months of salary statements, translated and notarised.
What documents does the Turkish land registry require from a foreigner?
TKGM lists a passport or national ID with translation if needed, a signed identity declaration form and photograph, a power of attorney if represented, a compulsory earthquake insurance (DASK) policy for any building, a foreigner identification or tax number, bank-approved transfer receipts, a sworn translator if you do not speak Turkish, and a Döviz Alım Belgesi issued by a bank for the sale value and sent to the registry by KEP.
Are there areas where foreigners cannot buy property in Turkey?
Yes. Property inside military forbidden zones and security zones cannot be acquired by foreigners, special security zones require the governor's permission, foreign individuals together may not exceed ten percent of the privately owned area of a district, and one person may not own more than thirty hectares nationwide. TKGM says the zone annotations are complete in all 81 provinces, and its Parsel Sorgu app shows a parcel's status.
Compare providers in your region
See side-by-side comparisons of Shariah-compliant products, or let our matcher recommend the best options for your situation.
Do I need a residence permit to get participation bank financing?
Not according to the published products. Kuveyt Türk and Emlak Katılım design their expatriate products for people living outside Turkey with foreign income, and Emlak Katılım requires overseas residence. The other banks do not publish a rule. What every bank needs is a Turkish bank account, a tax or foreigner ID number and documented income; a residence permit can help a branch's assessment but is not stated as a condition.



